Hannes Strydom Died After Hitting Minibus Taxi - Confirmed

19 Days(s) Ago    👁 65
hannes strydom died after hitting minibus taxi confirmed

Springbok 1995 Rugby World Cup-winner Hannes Strydom died after his car collided with a minibus taxi to the north-east of Johannesburg on Sunday evening.

The crash that claimed the life of the 58-year-old pharmacist took place near the coal mining town of eMalahleni, 140km from Johannesburg.

Post your condolences by clicking on the comment tab below this article or by emailing info@thesouthafrican.com or sending a WhatsApp to 060 011 021 1

MUST READ | Rassie Erasmus: The coach who made 'boring rugby' exciting

Strydom won 21 caps for South Africa between 1993 and 1997 and played all of his club rugby in South Africa.

The highlight of his international career was helping South Africa defeat New Zealand 15-12 after extra time in the 1995 World Cup final at Ellis Park.

MUST READ | Eben Etzebeth robbed: Rugby awards rigged against SA's giant?

After his playing days, Hannes Strydom was a successful businessman who owned a chain of pharmacies.

He is the fifth member of the 1995 Springbok squad to have passed away, after flank Ruben Kruger , scrumhalf Joost van der Westhuizen and wings Chester Williams and James Small .

RIP | Springbok Hannes Strydom dies: Post your condolences HERE

Kruger died from cancer in 2010 aged just 39, while Van der Westhuizen succumbed to motor neurone disease in 2017 aged 45.

Williams and Small both suffered fatal heart attacks in 2019, aged 49 and 50, respectively.

In addition, Kitch Christie , coach of the 1995 Springboks, also died from cancer.

Christie died in 1998 at the age of 58.

IN CLOSING | Which nations will bid to host the next Rugby World Cup?


15 Andre Joubert, 14 James Small, 13 Japie Mulder, 12 Hennie le Roux, 11 Chester Williams, 10 Joel Stransky, 9 Joost van der Westhuizen, 8 Mark Andrews, 7 Ruben Kruger, 6 Francois Pienaar (captain), 5 Hannes Strydom, 4 Kobus Wiese, 3 Balie Swart, 2 Chris Rossouw, 1 Os du Randt

Substitutes: 16 Nake Drotske, 17 Brendan Venter, 18 Rudolf Straeuli, 19, Johan Roux, 20 Garry Pagel, 21 Gavin Johnson