Explained: How Icc's Latest Rule Costed South Africa A Six In 3rd Odi Vs Aus?

4 Hour(s) Ago    👁 80
explained how iccs latest rule costed south africa a six in 3rd odi vs aus

A controversial incident took place during the 47th over of Australia's innings in the third ODI against South Africa at Mackay when Cameron Green, batting on 84, smashed Wiaan Mulder towards long-on. Dewald Brevis, stationed at the boundary, took a stunning catch but was forced over the rope. In an attempt to save the dismissal, Brevis threw the ball back into play, jumped again outside the boundary, and deflected it back on the playing field. While South Africa believed he had executed a legal boundary save. However, the umpires awarded six runs to Green.

According to the updated ICC and MCC playing conditions, a fielder who first makes contact with the ball inside the field can only touch it once while airborne outside the boundary rope. To make a second attempt, the player must land back inside the field of play before re-engaging with the ball. Since Brevis touched the ball multiple times outside the rope without making himself inside the field, the act was considered invalid, and Green's shot counted as a six.

Check out the video below:

Disclaimer: We are a news aggregator. See full disclaimer here.