Afcon Qualifiers: Barcelonas Oshoala, Atleticos Ajibade, Four Home-based Stars Make Nigeria Super Falcons Squad For Cape Verde Clash

19 Days(s) Ago    👁 60
afcon qualifiers barcelonas oshoala atleticos ajibade four homebased stars make nigeria super falcon
To secure the Super Falcons spot in the upcoming Womens Africa Cup of Nations, the Nigeria Football Federation has called up 21 players to represent Nigeria in the final round of qualifiers, reports. Nigeria are scheduled to play Cape Verdes womens national team in back-to-back clashes in six days. The nine-time African champions will host the Cape Verdeans at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, on Thursday, 30th November. The two teams will face off in the return leg scheduled to take place in Praia on Tuesday, 5th December. Nigeria are huge favourites to overcome Cape Verde, but the coaching crew of the Super Falcons has taken no chances and has invited some of the countrys best players for the games. Barcelona forward Asisat Oshoala will lead the attack, while Atletico Madrids Rasheedat Ajibade, Sevillas Toni Payne, and Pachuca FC defender Osinachi Ohale will offer the necessary support. Four home-based players will also be involved, including FC Robo Queens Esther Onyenezide, Edo Queens goalkeeper Christiana Obia, Remo Stars defender Akudo Ogbonna, and Bayelsa Queens star Rihanat Kasali. To reach this stage, Nigeria defeated Tanzania 5-1 on aggregate, claiming a 1-1 draw in the first leg in Addis Ababa before sealing progression with a 4-0 victory in Abuja. ALL THE INVITED PLAYERS: Goalkeepers : Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC), Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia), Christiana Obia (Edo Queens). Defenders : Osinachi Ohale (Pachuca FC, Mexico), Glory Edet (FCF TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Rihanat Kasali (Bayelsa Queens), Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France), Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies), Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France). Midfielders : Christy Ucheibe (SC Benfica, Portugal), Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens), Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal), Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain), Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA), Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain), Jennifer Echegini (Florida State University, USA). Forwards : Omorinsola Babajide (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain), Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain), Esther Okoronkwo (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain), Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA), Gift Monday (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain).